Skip to main content

Montana Association of

Oil, Gas, & Coal


The Montana Association of Oil, Gas, & Coal Counties is a non-profit corporation providing leadership on energy issues and promoting responsible energy development for the future of Montana.

The Association has one annual general membership meeting the second or third week in June. We also have a mid-winter meeting in February and a Fall meeting in September in conjunction with the MACo. meetings.

There are 33 Counties that belong to the  Association. County memberships are determined as a percentage of the Federal Mineral Royalty distribution to that county and a percentage of the production tax generated within the county. The minimum county membership is $200. Associate memberships are welcome from the oil, gas, and coal industries as well as from cities, schools, and individuals. Corporate  and School District memberships are $250 a year. City memberships are $100 a year. Associates are welcome at the all meetings, but do not have voting rights.

Board of Directors

  • Commissioner Richard Dunbar, President
    Phillips County
  • Commissioner Gordon Oelkers, Vice President
    Roosevelt County
  • Commissioner Roy Rost, Treasurer
    Fallon County
  • Commissioner Frank DePreist, Secretary
    Blaine County
  • Commissioner Loren Young
    Richland County
  • Commissioner Doug Martens
    Rosebud County
  • Commissioner John Ostlund
    Yellowstone County
  • Shelby DeMars
    Executive Director


  • Counties

    Big Horn, Beaverhead, Blaine, Carbon, Carter, Chouteau, Custer, Daniels, Dawson, Fallon, Fergus, Gallatin, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Hill, Liberty, Madison, McCone, Musselshell, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Powder River, Prairie, Richland, Rosebud, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Teton, Toole, Treasure, Valley, Wibaux, Yellowstone

  • Cities


  • School Districts


  • Corporate

    Fidelity Exploration and Production
    Continental Resources
    T & E  
    PPL Montana
    Northwest Energy
    MDU Resources
    Mitchell Oilfeild Service, Inc
    Cloud Peak Energy

Annual Meeting – June 13-14, 2022-Billings, MT

Please make your reservations at The Northern Hotel in Billings and when making your reservation, be sure to mention that you are with the Montana Association of Oil Gas & Coal Counties.

To view our Annual Meeting page, click here

Join us for the 2022 Annual Meeting of the Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties to be held in Billings, Montana! We have some great speakers and activities planned that you won’t want to miss!

To register for the Annual Meeting, or to view annual meeting documents, including information about past annual meetings, visit our Annual Meeting page by, clicking here


For answers to questions or additional information about the Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties, please contact us using the information below. 




Montana Association of Oil, Gas, & Coal Counties
c/o Shelby DeMars, 1820 N Last Chance Gulch, Helena, MT 59601