Skip to main content

MAOGCC Annual Meeting

JUNE 17 & 18, 2024 – Lewistown, MT

Join us for the Annual Meeting of the Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties on June 17th-18th, 2024 in Lewistown, Montana.  Room blocks are available at both The Calvert Hotel and the B&B Motel in Lewistown—just mention the “Oil, Gas, & Coal” room block when you call to make a reservation. 
Please make your reservation by Monday, May 20th, 2024. 

The Calvert Hotel 
216 7th Avenue South, Lewistown, MT 59457

The B&B Motel
520 Main Street, Lewistown, MT 59457

Registration Form

Please complete the form below for each individual registering for the MAOGCC Annual Meeting.
Your registration will not be submitted until you submit your payment information on the last step. If you would like to register for the meeting, but prefer not to do so online, please email for assistance.



01:00 PM – Golf  at Pine Meadows Golf Course
Location: Pine Meadows Golf Course, 320 Country Club Lane, Lewistown, MT

For those planning to golf, please meet at Elks Bar located in the Pine Meadows Golf Course. There will be 4 people to each team. You can either submit your own team, or if you’d like to sign up but don’t have a full team, you will be added to a team. The cost of golfing is included in your registration fee.

05:00 PM – Dinner
Location: Pine Meadows Restaurant & Bar, 320 Country Club Lane, Lewistown, MT

Dinner will be provided by MAOGCC. Dinner will be prime rib, vegetables, mashed potatoes, rolls, salad and dessert.

**Breakfast is on your own**
08:00 AM – Meeting Call to Order
Location: Pine Meadows Meeting Room, 320 Country Club Lane, Lewistown, MT

08:05 AM – Consent Items

08:10 AM – Financial Items

08:15 AM – Action Items
Bylaw changes

Board Member Elections
Future Meeting Locations

08:30 AM – Discussion Items
Chairman’s Update: Commissioner Richard Dunbar

08:45 AM – Presentations begin

Rusty Shaw, REM—Director of Regulatory Affairs for Denbury, Inc. (an ExxonMobil subsidiary)
Check back soon for more information about this presentation!

Michael Howe—Senior Advisor of Stakeholder Engagement for Enbridge, Inc.
Michael is the Senior Advisor of Stakeholder Engagement for Enbridge, covering three states – Montana, Wyoming, and Nebraska.  In that role he interacts with local and state policymakers, legislators, trade organizations, economic development groups, and manages donations, memberships, and sponsorships in the area.  He is a seasoned public affairs professional in the energy industry and has worked for two Governors in Wyoming. Michael will be providing a presentation on Enbridge’s operations in Montana with an emphasis on the storage tank terminals located along the Express Pipeline in Buffalo, MT and Edgar, MT. 

Ben Jones—Petroleum Engineer, Montana Board of Oil & Gas
Ben Jones, a petroleum engineer for nearly 16 years, brings experience from both the private and public sectors and currently serves as the petroleum engineer and technical advisor for the Montana Board of Oil and Gas Conservation (MBOGC), which administers the Montana oil and gas conservation laws; promotes conservation and prevents waste in the recovery of resources; and regulates oil and gas exploration and production. Ben will be providing an annual update from the Board of Oil & Gas on production over the past year.

Darryl James—Government Affairs representative for Westmoreland Mining and Executive Director, Montana Infrastructure Coalition
Darryl James is one of the Montana Government Affairs representatives for Westmoreland, the Executive Director of the Montana Infrastructure Coalition (MIC), and a key member of the Montana Environmental Policy Act (MEPA) Work Group. Darryl will be providing a brief update on the activities of the Montana Infrastructure Coalition, but will also be delving into the details of the MEPA Work Group.

Stay tuned! More speakers will be announced as we get closer to the event! 

12:00 PM – Adjourn


Click here to view the 2017 MAOGCC Annual Meeting Minutes (were voted on and approved at the 2018 Annual Meeting)

Click here to view the 2016 MAOGCC Annual Meeting Minutes (were voted on and approved at the 2017 Annual Meeting)